Ahead of the union election scheduled for December this year, the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ), Oyo’s state council, has inaugurated a five-member committee responsible for organizing hassle-free elections.

The committee members whose appointment was subject to congressional ratification by the state executive council were adopted by the congress at the monthly meeting of the union held at the Oyo NUJ Council Secretariat, Iyaganku GRA, Ibadan, the capital of the state. Oyo is on Wednesday.

Mr. Olamide Adeniji from the Information Chapel presented the motion for approval, while Mr. Dapo Ibikunle from Inspiration FM Chapel supported the motion.

The committee will be chaired by Comrade Dupe Fehintola of the BCOS Chapel, Comrade Nurudeen Alimi of the Tribune will serve as Secretary, while Comrade Remi Afonja of the NTA Chapel, Comrade Temilola Akarah of the Information Chapel and Comrade Khalid Imran of the Oke- Ogun Information Chapel will serve as members.

During the committee’s official inauguration, an administrator of the union’s national body, Mr. Bayo Akamo, called on committee members to carry out their duties without prejudice, adding that their appointment is a real test of their integrity. which should not be dented for any reason.

Read also:  Ebola kills fourth health worker in Uganda

The committee members, Chairman Oyo NUJ, Comrade Ademola Babalola, urged them to be diligent in carrying out the task before them, declaring that all eyes are now on them to organize credible, free and fair elections .

The chairman, Comrade Dupe Fehintola, responded on behalf of other members of the committee and pledged full commitment to the effective performance of the task, stating that confidence in the committee will not be taken for granted, while also encouraging the members of the committee assured union of fair and equal treatment of all aspirants.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.