Minister of Communications and Digital Economy, Isa Pantami, has inaugurated 44 board members of the National Identity Management Commission (NIMC), Nigerian Postal Service (NIPOST) and National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA).

At the inauguration ceremony in Abuja, Pantami urged board members to drive the implementation of policies for the digital economy.

Pantami said the responsibilities of the newly inaugurated board members were to oversee the activities of the parastatals.

“We inaugurated 44 board members, 17 for NIMC with ex-officers, including those appointed by Mr. President and others.

“NITDA we have 19 including the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer who serves as Secretary and members of the Board of Directors and NIPOST has 8 members. we really hope you continue to show maturity,” he said.

“You must do your best within the responsibilities assigned to you by the various enabling laws that establish these parastatal laws and other government policies and guidelines that may appear from time to time.

“More than 90 percent of those appointed today were reappointed as a result of our recommendation and because of their maturity in their handling and handling of the parastatals.

Read also:  Elite developed other countries with stolen money - Fadahunsi


“We must ensure that we respect constitutional authority in everything we do. and the Council has no authority when awarding contracts and the Minister has no power when it comes to granting contracts as independent status.

“We are part of the board of management and we are not part of the procurement board.

“To be honest with all of you. I am so grateful for the way you try to show the maturity of yourself, operate within the scope of the laws and government policies and hope you improve in the second term in office,” Pantami said.

The board of directors of the NIMC, consisting of 17 members, includes Prof. Usman A. El-Nafaty, Chairman-Presidency; dr. Dahiru I. Inuwa, Presidency; Mr Kole Jagun presidency; DCM Efosa Osawe, MNSE, Federal Commission for Road Safety (FRSC); Engr Chidi Nwafor, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC); Mr. Joseph Amakurugbonwo National Health Insurance Scheme (NHIS); Saidu Bashir Daura, Nigerian Immigration Service (NIS); Mr. Anyim Chinyere Nyerere National Pensions Commission (PENCOM); Mr Abdullahi Danmani, Ministry of State Security (SSS); Mr. Inuwa B. Jalingo, National Population Commission (NPoC).

Read also:  My Marriage to Teddy A, God's Will —BamBam

Others include Mr. Musa Itopa Jimoh, Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN); Mr Agweye Benedict Commission on Economic and Financial Crimes (EFCC); CP Yari Lafiya, Nigerian Police Force (NPF); Gene. Samad Akesode Office of the National Security Adviser (ONSA); Mr. Abel Augustine Olutoyin Corporate Affairs Committee (CAC); Mr. Kola Okunola Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS); including the Engr. Aliyu Abubakar Aziz Director General/CEO National Commission for Identity Management (NIMC).

19 members of the NITDA Board of Directors: including Dr. Abubakar Saidu, Chairman; Hon. Olakunle Kazeem Salako representing geopolitical zones; dr. Habibu Ahmed Imam, representative of geopolitical zones; Zainab Ibrahim Jalo, representative of geopolitical zones; Right Hon. Abdullahi Bello, representative of geopolitical zones; Princess Amarachi Uwanamodo representing geopolitical zones; Mr. Idowu Afe, representative of the Federal Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation.

Others are Engr. AA Ladan, representative of the Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy; Mr Mohammed Sani Mahmud representing the Ministry of Education; eng. Felix Nyado, representative of the Standards Organization of Nigeria; Engr Ayo Fanimokun who represents the Nigerian Society of Engineers; Mold. Usman Y. Dutse Representative of the Association of Personnel Associations of Hogescholen; Prof. dr. Charles O. Uwadia as representative of affiliated organizations of CPN; Prof Adesina S. Sodiya represents affiliated organizations of CPN; dr. Muhammad Sirajo Aliyu represents affiliates of CPN; Mr Muhammed M. Abubakar

Read also:  Post-harvest losses threaten food security, cost Nigeria N3.5trn per year -FG

Representing affiliated organizations of CPN; dr. Adesola Nassir, representative of the Association of Universities’ Staff Associations; Barr Francis Effanga, Representative of Geopolitical Zones and DG NITDA, Kashifu Inuwa Abdullahi as Secretary General.

NIPOST’s board of directors 8 members are Barr. Maimuna Yaya Abubakar, Chairman; Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy, Deputy Chairman; Ms Omobola Olusola-Dada, Member representing the Federal Ministry of Finance; Mr Sylvanus Esinwoke member representing the Federal Ministry of the Interior; Mallam Mainasara Sani Abubakar, Presidency; Mr Agbabiaka Babatunde Samuel, chairman; Attorney Bulus S. Yakubu, Presidency; including the Post Master General/CEO of NIPOST, Dr. Ismail Adebayo Adewusi.

Monkeypox vaccine may not be available until 2023 – NCDC

Pantami charges NIMC, NIPOST and NITDA boards to drive digital economy policy implementation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.